ocean callings

i feel the swing of ocean

breathing at my hair

fly with me

tugging at my sleeves

to plunge into the

churning memories of water

 

i imagine myself

letting go of the safety rails

and unlocking my soul

to the seething waves

let free of yourself

and come with us.

 

something floats in front of me

a marble, a bubble

inside it, frothing

are all the colors of the rainbow,

pulsing within the transparent wall.

 

and then i realize-

that was me.

the bubble contained my imagination,

my inspiration.

 

it popped.

 

so all the paintings of my mind

leaked into the heartless ocean;

 

instantly, it swallowed all that was left of me

turning vivid colors into the same,

deep dark blue.

 

i turn around

and slowly walk back into

the safety of the ship.

 

the relentless susurration

of the reckless waves

beckons to me no more.

 

Leave a Reply

